UDRP on DomainInvesting.com
101 Domain


UDRP Filed on Quebec.com


This morning, I was looking through the recent UDRP filings at the World Intellectual Property Organization, and I saw an aggravating one that should almost certainly be denied, hopefully with a finding of Reverse Domain Name Hijacking. The Ministre des Relations internationales, de la Francophonie et du Commerce extérieur (Department of International Relations) has filed a UDRP for the Quebec.com domain name.

Quebec.com is owned by Anything.com, Ltd., a company that owns a large portfolio of exceptional keyword domain names, including YL.com, YE.com, 10.com, and many others. The company has owned this domain name since for at least 10 years and probably much longer than that (Whois history records for this name stop in 2003 and it has a 1998 creation date). That almost certainly means that (more…) → Read More

Niche Websites

Chrysler Files UDRP For Nearly 1,000 Domain Names


I was checking out the recent UDRP filings at the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and I saw that Chrysler filed a UDRP for almost 1,000 domain names. In total, there were 940 domain names listed in this single UDRP filing.

The domain names in question appear to contain the names of a number of Chrysler brands, including Alfa Romeo, Fiat, Dodge, Chrysler, and Jeep. The domain names are in a variety of extensions, including com, net, info, mobi...etc.

I checked out a few of the domain names to see how they are being used, and the Fiat names I checked are forwarded to FiatSale.com and the Alfa Romeo names I checked are forwarded to AlfaRomeoSales.com. Interestingly, those two domain names appear to be registered to a car dealership. Neither one of these landing page domain names are included in the UDRP filing.

It will be interesting to see how this UDRP plays out. At $10/name that's almost $10k/year in domain names. → Read More

Niche Websites

2011 ccTLD UDRP Cases at WIPO


With .CO domain names now available to register for almost a year, I did some research on the number of UDRP cases for ccTLD domain names filed at the World Intellectual Property Organization so far in 2011. These numbers don't reflect the actual number of domain names, but just the number of cases filed (doesn't differ by much but pointing it out).

On forums, my blog, and elsewhere, I read people's comments about how .CO domain names would make for a field day for trademark and IP attorneys, and I did a brief analysis to see if this assumption is true to date, at least in terms of the number of UDRP filings so far in 2011 at WIPO.

Based only on assumptions, one would be likely to assume that there would be hundreds of UDRP filings because .CO is so close to .com. One might also assume that .CO would have far more UDRP filings than every other extension. While .CO did have more UDRP filings than almost all other ccTLDs that are listed at WIPO, I was personally surprised to see that .NL has the most UDRP filings in 2011. In my → Read More

Niche Websites

Cleveland Browns Win UDRP for Browns.com


In March, I reported that the Cleveland Browns had filed a UDRP for Browns.com, and the UDRP decision was released today. The single panelist, Dr. Clive N.A. Trotman, found in favor of the Cleveland Browns, and the domain name will be transferred to the football team ownership, barring any litigation.

The respondent, a resident of Italy, did not provide a response to the UDRP. This seems to have played a role in the decision as the panelist stated, "The Respondent has not offered any such refutation, or replied at all, and the Panel is not aware from the evidence of any means by which the Respondent could succeed under the provisions of paragraph 4(c) of the Policy, or otherwise, to establish rights or legitimate interests in the disputed domain name."

In my opinion, if the respondent doesn't give a good reason for why he has a right to the domain name, I don't think it should be expected for the panelist to find a reason on his own, especially in light of other information provided in the UDRP proceeding.

One piece of → Read More

Niche Websites

Pharmaceutical Product Development, Inc. Files UDRP for PPD.com


I really hate seeing UDRP filings for three letter .com domain names. In my opinion, three letter acronyms usually have many different meanings, and it's generally tough to say who would have a right to own the name.

I was checking the World Intellectual Property Organization's website to see what UDRP filings have been recently made, and I saw one for the seemingly descriptive PPD.com. According to the filing report, Pharmaceutical Product Development, Inc. and Pharmaco Investments, Inc. filed a UDRP for PPD.com in mid-April.

In looking at a historical thumbnail of PPD.com, I don't see how the domain name is infringing upon this company's brand. In fact, there seems there was even a vulgar message splashed across the front (see historical thumbnail from May 2008). At the present time, PPD.com looks to be a standard parking page without much of a focus on a particular industry, so it doesn't jump out at me as to why the company thinks they deserve the domain name.

Some PPD uses/meanings/acronyms:

Niche Websites

Tucows Wins Lorenzo.com UDRP


Tucows LogoIn January, I reported that a company called Lorenzo International had filed a UDRP for the domain name, Lorenzo.com. This domain name is owned by Tucows and is a part of the company's NetIdentity suite of first and last name domain names, some of which have been the subject of successfully defended UDRP filings in the past.

According to the discussion in the UDRP decision (not yet available online), the company's usage of Lorenzo.com is legitimate, and the complaint was denied. From the UDRP decision:

"there is no evidence that the Respondent's continuing use of the domain name in the same way in connection with its Personal Names Service is not bona fide. The Respondent states that it was not aware of the Complainant or of its claim to trademark rights until it received the Complaint. The Complainant has therefore demonstrated that prior to any notice to it of the dispute it used the disputed domain name in the bona fide offering of its services."

Based on prior results of similar cases, it's not really surprising to me → Read More

Niche Websites

« Older Entries